All Helter Skelter

Wow, I have been such a lazy blogger lately!  With no evening hours for photos and no good setup for inside photos, the fall/winter months are really challenging bloggy times for me.  I hope you all will forgive me!

I did manage to make outfits for the kids when we had our last family photos taken in September (!), and here is the first one.

Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs sewn by Katie @ Creative Counselor

J in the Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs

J, my tall, gangly 5 1/2-year-old is wearing a Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs.

I have nothing earth-shattering to say about this pattern.  It’s a nice pattern.  Well-done, easy to construct with a fun little twist.

If you have a TNT t-shirt pattern in your stash, it would be quite easy to recreate the Helter Skelter effect with a few slashes to your pattern.  I actually really liked the fit of this t-shirt on J.  It’s long enough for him with just the right amount of looseness for an active 5-year-old boy.  He looks so grown-up!

Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs sewn by Katie @ Creative Counselor

I can’t believe how grown up he looks here!

Both the fabrics are from Girl Charlee.  The gray is just a basic cotton-spandex blend, and the teal stripey one is available here.  They’re a little slinky, and I really like the drape on him.  The fabric gives the t-shirt more of a soft, vintage t-shirt feel.  When ordering from Girl Charlee, I always make sure I order fabric with some spandex or rayon blended with the cotton.  I find that I have pretty good luck with those, but I’m really not a fan of their 100% cotton fabrics.

Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs sewn by Katie @ Creative Counselor

Helter Skelter

Pattern: Helter Skelter Tee by Shwin Designs

Size: 5.

Fabric: Cotton blends from Girl Charlee.  The teal stripey one is available here

Difficulty: Adventurous beginner.  This is actually a pretty easy pattern, but you do need to line up seams fairly precisely for a nice, clean look.  Still, an adventurous beginner shouldn’t have any problems.

Techniques required: Sewing knits, hemming knits, sewing a neckband, matching seams, setting in flat sleeves.

Modifications: None.

Fit: Really good.  J is a skinny little kid, and I think this pattern has the perfect amount of ease on him.  I love that is comfortable for him to wear, but still makes him look so grown up!

Pattern Format: This pattern from Shwin Designs comes in PDF format.  It’s a pretty standard PDF, nothing particularly great or awful about it.

Pros:

  • Fit is really good, at least on my tall, skinny kid.
  • Interesting detail with the diagonal color blocking.
  • Straightforward construction.  Once the front and back pieces are assembled, it goes together like any other t-shirt pattern.

Cons:

  • While this is a cute pattern, it’s really just a hack on a basic t-shirt.  I like the shape of this t-shirt, but I couldn’t recommend spending the money if you already have a good t-shirt pattern in your stash.  A couple of slashes to the pattern and boom, you’ve got the same thing.  If I didn’t already have it in my stash, purchased as part of a bundle somewhere along the line, I wouldn’t have bought it.

Overall Grade: C.  Don’t get me wrong, I like this pattern and I like the shape of the t-shirt, but I just really can’t recommend buying this as a stand alone pattern.  To me, it really is better suited as a tutorial for modifying an existing t-shirt pattern rather than a stand alone pattern worth an extra $9.00.

**And once again, no freebies here.

Leave a comment