Sewing for the (big) boy

I went to look for my post about this outfit I made for J late last fall, but I realized that while I blogged about it for the (now inoperable) Sew the Show blog, I never wrote about it here!

Creative Counselor: Ried's Classic Chinos

Well, time to change that 🙂

I made this ensemble for J last November.  Believe it or not, except for his shoes, everything he is wearing here is handmade!

Creative Counselor: Ried's Classic Chinos

The shirt is my TNT kid raglan pattern, the Recess Raglan by See Kate Sew.  For this shirt, I used one of Albert’s old t-shirts that was in the refashion pile.  It’s perfect for J’s personality right now.

The pants are the Reid’s Classic Chinos by KBSD.  And if you’re thinking that these don’t look much like chinos, well you would be right!  Other than the most basic shape, there is very little about these pants that resemble the original pattern.  I used this pattern as a base to make J a pair of adjustable waist jeans.

Creative Counselor: Ried's Classic Chinos

They worked out really well, except for one thing.  They’re big.  Like really big on J.  He is a very slender child and while I purposely made them long so that he would be able to wear them for a while, they ended up way too big in the waist and hips.   Thankfully they have an adjustable waist, which is gathered in as small as it will go!  Needless to say, these pants should last him a couple of years 🙂

Creative Counselor: Ried's Classic Chinos

And finally, I even made his hat.  This is the Barley Hat by Tin Can Knits, knitted in absolutely luscious Trinity Worsted yarn by Sweet Georgia Yarn.  While I think this slouchy beanie looks awesome on J, I don’t think he likes it very much.  He kept complaining that it was too big and was slipping down.  My oldest child is decidedly NOT a hipster!

Creative Counselor: Ried's Classic Chinos

With everyone, including us, getting ready to go back to school, and with Kids Clothes Week underway, projects like this are at the front of my mind.  J is long past the age where he wants to look like Mom made his clothes.  The nice thing about an outfit like this is that kids are more likely to ask where he bought something than whether his mom made it.  That’s a win for both of us!

6 thoughts on “Sewing for the (big) boy

  1. LoisAnn

    I’d love to see a recent picture of him in this outfit. Kids grow so fast. Everything looks like it is off the rack of a very nice store. Beautiful.

    Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      I’ll try to get some recent photos:) He’s grown so much that the pants probably fit a lot better now, and I probably need to transform the shirt into short sleeves so he can wear it this fall!

      Reply
    1. Katie Post author

      It is. My husband used to be king of the graphic tees, so I have a huge pile of them sitting around to upcycle. I actually cut a bunch for t-shirts for J over the winter and they’re all just sitting there half done! I need to finish those up (and maybe turn them into short sleeves) before he outgrows them and they have to wait for the little guy 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment